

Awards Administration Committee

The Awards Administration Committee, a coordinating body and administrative agent of the Governing Board, handles all awards and honors that are not governed by the AOCS Constitution and By-Laws.

D.R. Erikson is committee chairman and members are R.R. Allen, W.T. Baumann, S.S. Chang, J.G. Coniglio, J.C. Cowan, and E.E. Rice.

The committee has four subcommittees: Award in Lipid Chemistry (Canvassing Committee), chaired by D.L. Berner; Bond Award, chaired by J.G. Coniglio; Honored Student Award, chaired by J.G. Hamilton; and Herit Award, chaired by A.E. Waltking.

Biochemical Methods Committee

The Biochemical Methods Committee is a technical committee which surveys, studies, encourages development, and recommends preparative analytical and other procedures for use in biochemical research. L.A. Witting is committee chairman and members are David Firestone, J.C. Means, N. Pelick, E.G. Perkins, E.M. Sallee, Alan Sheppard, H. Slover, and A.E. Waltking.

Biochemical methodology tends to be rather dynamic in nature. In the past, the committee apparently found that it was impractical to standardize such procedures into the equivalent of uniform methods. Under the chairmanships of George Rouser and Nicholas Pelick, extensive work was undertaken on the determination of blood lipids.

At this time, the committee has three immediate objectives: (1) participation in standardization of the lipoxidase procedure, (2) participation in standardization of tocopherol methodology, and (3) publication of a collection of methods for glycolipid analysis. Committee members Waltking and Sheppard are particularly interested in the collaborative testing of the lipoxidase procedure, and Slover in tocopherol methodology. There has been amazing progress in recent years in the development of procedures and methods for the isolation and analysis of glycolipids. In general, these methods are not particularly suitable for testing and standardization but are of considerable interest in the "state of the art." The committee has attempted to gather together in AOCS publications critical reviews and descriptions of such methodology through cooperation with the Education and Monograph committees. "Glycolipid Analysis," a monograph which is now being prepared for publication, includes methods for isolation and analysis of steryl glycosides, glycosyl diglycerides, glycosides of hydroxy fatty acids, and glycosphingolipids (including the sialyl and fucosyl derivatives).

The committee views its principal problem area at this time as establishment of close working relationships with other groups concerned with the same problems.

It seems essential in the future to establish a procedure to assemble and critically review and evaluate recent developments in biochemical methodology related to lipids. In the past, the Education Committee has provided this through Short Courses, which in some cases resulted in publication of groups of papers in JAOCS. At this time,

publication is being tested in the Society's monographs to evaluate this route's practicality and usefulness. Given the current pace of development, major reviews seem to be required at three to four year intervals.

AOCS Foundation

Eleven years ago, the executive director of the Society outlined to the Governing Board the importance of establishing a foundation. He stressed the importance and advantages of complete segregation of funds for nonprofit purposes.

At the Governing Board meeting of April 19, 1964, the four past presidents were directed to review this proposal with the executive secretary. Chicago attorney Willard J. Lassers, with a noted background in this area, also participated in the numerous discussions. A favorable recommendation to proceed with formation of a foundation resulted from this study.

At the May 7, 1967, Governing Board meeting, a revision of the AOCS Constitution and By-Laws was favorably considered which would give the Board the authority to establish a foundation if it so elected. This revision was approved by the AOCS membership in April 1968. In April 1970, an Ad Hoc Society Guidance Panel strongly recommended establishment of a foundation which finally was implemented on October 1, 1970, with the following Board of Directors: N.T. Joyner (Convener), H.G. Salomon, I.A. Wolf, George Rouser, J.V. Luck, V.K. Babayan, K.F. Mattil, W.A. Jacob, and H.E. Robinson.

The first meeting of the Foundation Board of Directors was held at the April 1971 AOCS meeting in Houston. In April 1974, the Northeast Section of AOCS made the first substantial contribution to the Foundation.

There remains the tremendous task of putting to work the best imagainative thinking of the Board and other interested Society members to serve the purpose and goals outlined in Article II of the Foundation's By-Laws:

"The purpose of the Foundation shall be to further the objectives of the Society by advancement of technology, research, education, and training. The Foundation may acquire property by gift, bequest, devise, or otherwise and shall devote such property exclusively to charitable, educational, scientific, and literary purposes; to encourage the advancement of the chemistry and technology of oils, other lipids, their constituents and compounds, and all allied and associated substances; and to promote research in these fields. The Foundation may contribute to the support and development of nonprofit research facilities and related facilities; establish and maintain professional accreditation; create and endow undergraduate and graduate scholarships and fellowships in educational institutions, create and endow awards; grant loans or gifts to worthy and qualified persons or nonprofit corporations for educational and scientific purposes; and promote meetings, discussions, and publications designed to increase and diffuse chemical and technical knowledge of oils, fats, waxes, their constituents and compounds, and all allied and associated substances. Provided, however, no part of the earnings of the Foundation shall inure to the benefit of any member or individual, and provided further that the Foundation shall not engage in, nor shall any of its funds or property be used in, carrying on propaganda or otherwise attempting to influence legislation."

Present members of the Foundation Governing Board are V.K. Babayan, N. Pelick, J.G. Endres, R. Reiser, N.O.V. Sonntag, S.S. Chang, L.R. Dugan, R.G. Krishnamurthy, J. Lyon, ex officio, and G.C. Cavanagh, Chairman. Any of these individuals would be receptive to viable suggestions from AOCS members regarding implementation of the goals and purposes of the Foundation.